God’s Will Doesn’t Matter

IMG_9098.PNGWhat place should God’s will have in our lives?

That’s a question I know I’ve asked and (let’s be real, here) am continually asking.

We wonder all sorts of things about God’s will.

  • Am I understanding His will correctly?
  • Can I step outside of God’s will?
  • How do I best know what God’s will actually is for my life and what is just my will?

We have a lot of questions.  Honestly, I don’t know how to perfectly answer any of those.

One thing I have noticed though: talk.

Sometimes, we’re even too lazy to simply talk about God’s will.  Other times, though, we talk about it.  A lot. 

Ask someone how they’re gonna get involved on campus and hear that they’re “still seeking God’s will about it.”  Ask them about how they are going to pursue their interests and hear how they are not pursuing anything “until they have a more clear picture of God’s will for their life.”

Don’t get me wrong.  Seeking God’s heart and wanting to honor Him with our lives is more than important: it’s vital.

But theorizing and delaying and hesitating and second-guessing and doubting and questioning and continually analyzing and constantly searching aren’t a healthy approach to God’s will.

Waiting on God’s will is not an excuse for selfish living.

You see, some things are perfectly clear:

  • What’s most important? Loving God and loving people (Mark 12:30-31).
  • What’s solidly in God’s will, regardless of the circumstances? Rejoice. Pray. Give thanks. “…for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

Let us stop this hyper-analysis.  Rejoice that God is good. Pray that we will act according to His heart.  Thank Him for the opportunities in our lives.

Commit ourselves to Him and go.  Go in faith that He will redirect but realizing that He cannot redirect something that never moves in the first place.

6 thoughts on “God’s Will Doesn’t Matter

  1. I really appreciate your honesty in this post. I find these kinds of comments about God’s will frustrating. People talk about seeking His will before making decisions and I wonder how they ever see it so clearly! I pray about my decisions and want to glorify God in how I live, but in the end I make the decision because it’s just what I want to do, not because I have a supernatural voice tell me “Take this job!” “Pursue this major!” “Eat that cookie!” I think it’s important to know that you can’t leave God’s will. No matter what we decide, He is sovereign and His plans will prevail no matter what choices we make in life.

    Like

    • Yes, you nailed it, Megan! Prayer does play such an important role (so we know that we’re not doing things recklessly and selfishly), but it is important to – ultimately – trust God through it all. He is good and faithful, and we really don’t need to worry. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Another verse that applies is Proverbs 3:5&6: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart…in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will direct your path.” We don’t always need to know God’s will, and we definitely don’t need to know what it is before we act. In fact, it’s just the opposite. We just need to understand and acknowledge that God has a will for us, and then jump in (as long as it’s not something that’s definitely not his will). He’ll make sure that things happen according to his will. He “takes the wheel” as long as we are pushing the accelerator forward.

    Like

    • Hey Noah! Yeah, I think it’s really important to make sure that we are “pushing the accelerator forward” and not lingering in our doubt or stubbornness unnecessarily. That verse is so applicable in this, too. When we’re seeking to honor Him, He’s gonna direct. I love that so much! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  3. I like the post but I’m left wondering “go…where?” I might argue that the intrinsic desires + the people that are around us are exactly the place to go to. We sort next steps by following our desire in a prayerful, open way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

